i was out of the bunk and on the fields this morning at 6 and folks the mist was rolling every which way with the sun rising up behind it.  beauty!  and cool but by 8 a.m. it was already 20 C.  i hit the river before breakfast for a spot of cooling and snapped these photos along the way.

while i was out there, very much alone, (Shelley’s on the road and Jazzy Moon is at the Ranch sleeping over), i was thinking about this book i’ve seen at mom’s over the years:  Simple Abundance, A Daybook of Comfort and Joy, by Sarah Ban Breathnach, published way back in 1995 (my have times changed since then).  while they were playing music and singing songs i picked up that book once again and opened it to where the book mark was placed.  these words by Calvin Coolidge go like this:

“Nothing in the world can take the place of persistence.  Talent will not; nothing is more commonplace than unsuccessful men with talent.  Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb.  Education alone will not; the world is full of educated derelicts.  Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent.”

let me tell you, the way the page was marked, i felt like someone was pointing a finger at me!  i guess you could say its time for me to pick up my guitar, pick up my paints and brushes, and my pen and paper…  3 of the biggies in my life i’ve left alone far too long…

on the upswing, mom let me take the book and so its here on the range for a few days.  and the river is running clear and cool, perfect for the mid summer heat wave and peace!  we have peace out here.  tons of it.  peace to spare.

