And now long gone! I was cleaning house last week next to the blazing fire place. I thought my journals from art school would be filled with exotic tales of sketching, painting, and the life and times of the art student, age 18 to 21. Instead it was filled with debauched tales of excess, filthy with sickly adventures that had nothing to do with art and art making. For example: I went with the class to New York City, spring 1985, to visit the Met and the Guggenheim and other exotic art galleries and in particular to see a few Jackson Pollocks and a few Mark Rothkos. I found the pages from that adventure and there was not a single word about me seeing those paintings I loved so much…

Youth truly was wasted on my young.

In later journals, from the befuddled late 1990’s (also into the blaze), I found and saved these two pages from around 1998. Here is version one:

The Corn Goddess

The Corn Goddess

That’s a Bic ball point pen on regular 8.5×11″ paper. The Corn Goddess was an idea I was muddling back then. Where the finished painting ended up I’ll never know.

Version two:

Monday, Feb. 16, 1998

Monday, Feb. 16, 1998

Bic ball point pen on standard issue paper. Well I do remember the times: No Rez was a rock and roll band and full time with plane rides and shows from one end of the country to the other. Not sure if February 1998 was the time when Air Canada lost my luggage on the trip to Whitehorse. We played the Frostbite Music Festival: my guitar showed up but nothing else! (Wearing the same clothes for 2 weeks is no way to do a road trip… )

But I digress. Bottom line: I’d like to see those paintings of the famed “Corn Goddess”. If you’re out there, reading this, and you have those paintings, drop me a line and attach of jpeg of said pieces. I would love to see them again.

