Aanii.  Boozhoo and Halloo there!  Well I’m back!  Back on sweet Manitoulin Island and the mighty green and blue!  But the week on the road was a lot fun, awake at all hours of the summer day and night.  And I really do love going back to Ottawa and my old neighbourhood, snooping around, watching the scenes unfold and happy too, that I have special place out there in the country I can return to.

And so I arrived at the Gathering out there along the Rideau River and they had picked themselves a great spot for a gathering!  Beauty fire blazing, sweat lodge, a kitchen full of gals working at keeping us well fed, and some recent “old friends”, back together again.

The room they had me set up in, a beauty from 1948!  Here are a few pictures of the before:

Classic old style classroom!

Classic old style classroom!

This room was made for making ART!  And it was in itself, a work of art!

Ah the years of fun in this room!

Ah the years of fun in this room!

Check out those names up there on the rafters!  Some of them were dated way back to 1979!  I’m sure there were older names but as far as I could see, 1979 was the earliest year and what a year it was huh?  Where were you in the summer of 1979?  I sure know where I was!

The art making tools!

The art making tools!

And that is pretty much all we needed to get busy on day one for 2 hours and on day 2 for around 4 hours!!!  What a grand way to spend time mid week at the end of another summer.  You should have seen some of the grand creations too!  As an art facilitator it was beautiful to watch and listen!

Well you know me!  I just had to leave a little something behind seeing how a lot of other folks had done just that.  And so here is my little contribution to that glorious old building!

twinravens actual

twinravens actual

After the fun art times had been folded up and put away I got back in the little red car and hit the open highway for the all night drive back to the island, arriving at 8:30 a.m., just in time to brush my teeth, comb my hair, turn around and blaze back out to work at the art gallery!  Fun times indeed!

