Wow!  We get these stretches of glorious sun and beauty warm climes this late in the season…  man oh man we just have to stop and take a good look around!  This morning, November 5th, was one of those magical times: a blaze of sun and heat, no wind, nothing but birds and the river…

the Manitou at 815 a.m.

the Manitou at 815 a.m.

I had to see it for myself so i took a little stroll up to the waterfalls: whew!  What a scene in every direction.

the pooch in the cedar grove at 830 a.m.

the pooch in the cedar grove at 830 a.m.

It really was one of those moments where you have to stop and do a 360, slowly, and ask:  Where am I?

the open range on November 5th

the open range on November 5th

Well I had the good fortune with this answer:  I am at home.

one of the mares

one of the mares

Yes.  We wrote a song with the band, ages ago it seems, called Place of Peace.  The band mates wrote that in the van on the Yellowhead Highway, east bound, in the middle of the night, coming home from the Northern StoryTelling Festival in Whitehorse.  I remember it coming together as I was behind the wheel, taking us to somewhere outside Brandon for sunrise.  I think of that song every now and again but especially on a morning like this!  Wow.

