“In front of Caen we had with us the Maisonneuves from Montreal and they were a wild bunch.  We were in an area around a little place called Ifs and there was a huge church in this little place with a very tall steeple.  And up in this steeple was a sniper.  She got several of the Frenchmen before they got her.  When they caught her they hooked her up behind a jeep and after towing her around for a few miles there wasn’t much left to see.  She nearly got me one night since our platoon was right there.  This gal would come down to the main part of the church at night and play her game.  As I was going into the platoon she nicked me across the bridge of my nose.  My buddy upstairs must have jarred her elbow.  She drew blood but that was all.

The next night our boys were still in the same position but I was told to find another route in case the church had been shelled and fallen over the road I was using to reach the platoon.  I found another trail in and was almost there when there was a terrific bombardment of 88’s coming my way.  So I hid behind a wall about 3 feet high.  I was there for 2 hours and it was there that I figured out that if I lived till tomorrow I would appreciate every day afterwards.”

From my Dad’s War Stories, near the town of Ifs, south of Caen, France, late June 1944.

Dad and his 27 Chev, back home at the Ranch, Mindemoya, c.1996

Dad and his 27 Chev, back home at the Ranch, Mindemoya, c.1996

Mom and Dad in his 27 Chev, at home at the Ranch, summer of 1996

Mom and Dad in his 27 Chev, at home at the Ranch, summer of 1996

Yes.  I am going to the Remembrance Day service near the town of Mindemoya.

