Aanii!  So here I am back on the sweet blue and green:  the range, backwoods, boon docks, southeast corner of Manitoulin Island and home sweet home.  It’s mid afternoon right now and I’m running on fumes as I rolled in at 4:30 a.m.  Twas the famed almost all night drive from the First Annual Holistic Healing Fair in Orillia, the third all night drive in the past four days!  

The wild night drives started with a couple of sight seeing days in the Byward Market in Ottawa.  I got the call on Thursday afternoon and that night, around 9 p.m. it was the open road!  The starry sky scenes between Mattawa and Deep River are always an amazing scene at 3 a.m.  The Milky Way is a sight to behold from that stretch, not unlike out here on the range except that out there, every now and again you’ll hear a train rolling through the Algonquin wilderness.  I always think about those poor lads, asleep behind their controls, riding the rails through the night, in the rut, out of sight and out of mind,  year after year.  Shine on you crazy diamonds!  

I pulled into Ottawa just in time for the morning traffic jam and I’m reminded, when I’m stuck in one of those, why I left the city.  The Byward Market was a grand sight on Friday and Saturday, sun blasting, folks coming and going, “If Six Was Nine” playing on someone’s motor bike sound system, and the memories of having lived in the city and being down there quite often, doing the stroll.

I pulled out of Ottawa on Saturday night and once free of the traffic lights, traffic and city scenes, I slipped “twinravens mixed music” disc Bezhik into the CD player (1990’s old schooler I know… ) and up came track one: “Horse With No Name”, through the speakers, as I rolled west on 17 towards the town of Renfrew and another round of the super boons.  It’s been a few years since I rolled through the towns of Griffith, Bancroft, Tory Hill, Kinmount, Norland, and sneaking into via the back roads to the now glittery Rama Indio Rez.  We drove that road many a time while promoting and playing for the late, great Debajehmujig Theatre Group which back in those days was based on the Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve and was handled, managed and maintained by the late, great Larry Lewis.  My how times have changed.

Downtown Bancroft has not!  Said town and main street in photo to follow:

IMG_8240

Old timer hospitality has not changed.  I was on the streets, boots on the ground, stretching my legs, maybe one minute before an old man came along, walking his dog and asked:  Do you need any help of any kind?  Quite unlike the lads in the shabby black pick up truck  at the Tim’s in Renfrew who, when they saw me standing next to my car dialling my phone, yelled:  Go home Slope!  (I think they meant to say wagon burner but as they were rounding the corner into the parking lot, maybe they were busy with the 2 tasks.)

Ah but whatever it is, it will remain as long as the sun shines and the rivers flow.  Same goes with peace, love, humility, old time hospitality and a bunch of other things but we’re talking two diff rivers!  And two diff sons.  

The Holistic Healing Fair in Orillia was beautifully put together, run on time and like their event in Sudbury back in March, a class act.  I was very happy to be a part of their vending team.

It was said and done by 4 p.m. and the open road was there for the taking!  But when you’ve been awake for the last 3 of 4 days your mind and vision will play tricks.  I was thinking about those airborne boys on June 5, 1944, and how they started out on their 30 day adventures in France on the same night all those years ago, and how their minds and visions must have been playing tricks as well, a few days into, say Carantan.  Of course once again we are talking about two diff rivers and two diff sons.  

Quite on the other hand:  the Manitou River continues to flow, in peace.  Unchanged and as far as I can see.  Not sure how it was flowing on June 6, 1944, but today, June 6, 2016, it looks something like this:

IMG_8224

Yes we have a lot to be thankful for.  And am reminded always, while on the road, there is a home I have, and a place to return, a place worth driving all night to get back home.

The first 13 tracks (18 tracks in total) on the “twinravens mixed music” disc:

  1.  Horse With No Name
  2. Year of the Cat
  3. Hypnotized (Fleetwood Mac of course!!!)
  4. Night Moves
  5. Into the Msytic
  6. Colorado Song
  7. Father and Son
  8. John Barley Corn Must Die
  9. Babaji
  10. Ten Years Gone
  11. Band on the Run
  12. Magneto and Titanium Man
  13. Love In Song 
