Friday afternoon on the open range: the rain we were told about never showed.  But it’s okay as here we are on the almighty, 430 p.m., at our destination.  We’re not in the smoking confines or on the 400 highways.  We are here, ready for the weekend and night music.  What a grand and glorious week it has been!

And so!  This morning when I went to the local to put my 5 bucks on the 60 mill lottery for tonight, I saw a glam girl in her early 20’s near the magazine rack, looking at a fashion mag and semi looking at her phone.  She saw me and in her defence, from the ankles up, I am indeed one of the meanest looking sons of guns anyone ever did see!  But it was below the ankles which caught her attention:  I was wearing my sweet Jazzy Moon’s hot pink flip flops and of course my toe nails were painted a beautiful copper sun!  (Ha!)  And that is just what happened!  She smirked.  Chuckled.  Looked away.  Looked back.  Chuckled a little more and I could see it building into that maniacal style laugh where she’d soon be holding onto something with one hand to steady herself, holding her other hand over her flat belly, laughing uncontrollably.  Fun stuff.  I chuckled as I made my way into the liquor store.  Time 930 a.m.

You see things have change out here in a short 13 hours!

This afternoon I had a few minutes to crack open one of my fave books of poetry and found T.S. Eliot’s “The Hollow Men”, and it struck me, with the river, the wind, the big skies of grey, the green fields, and of course the birds.  I’d like to read it to you but I’m pretty sure Marlon can do it much better and so here it is:

