Does this ever happen to you:  you’re in the creative ZONE working on something, using one medium, and wham bam something comes along that requires the use of another medium?!!

Case in point:  I’m working on a writing project.  The project has been in the works for years and truth is I’m getting sick of looking at it on the “to do list”.  I know it IS worth something as some of the chapters I’ve entered into writing contests and managed to get in on the prizes, which must mean something!  I decided to take the bull by the horns this September and put down my paint brushes and musical instruments and focus entirely on this writing project.  (It’s starting to come along nicely!)  I’m even at a brand new address, so I don’t get distracted by things like the glorious River, the magnificent Green and Blue, the changing Autumn Colours, the Mares, the Crickets, the Spiders and their artful Webs and have mercy the list goes on and on and on out there.

I’m in the city.  Back in Ottawa and I’ve been here a month.  No guitar.  No paint brushes.  Just me and my trusty MacBook Pro, with this writing project on board, which absolutely MUST GET DONE!

This morning I settled in to get busy with some writing and editing and there it was…  I could hear something.  Blues in A.  It was a song…  the words were swimming down out of last night’s experiences on the downtown streets around about 10.  The number 2 bus down through Richmond Street, Wellington, on to Somerset and down Bank is a tourist trip : on the other side of the glass are wild scenes: the wealthy, with the men sporting ties and jackets, their women in fancy and flashy dresses, coming out of or going into slick looking and dimly lit bistros.  Next to and in with them, at their feet, are the dispossessed, the broke, the homeless, shirtless, the mentally ill and have mercy yes, the list goes on and in between are your general issues by the dozens, going who knows where.  (You see when you spend 7 years in a land with zero light and noise pollution, the city street really is a show.)

So I got out to take a look around.  What scenes indeed!

img_0027

As my old buddy from art school once said, and I’ve mentioned it here before:  You can’t have too much art in one day.  By midnight I was back at my city address and ready to be tucked in for the night.

This morning over coffee and greens, that music started…  Somewhere close to the surface, me being a fan of the blues, I could hear that guitar playing and the words started swimming in!  Of course I had to drop everything and write this brand new song:  Looking Gorgeous (and Lonely).  Thank goodness for this modern technology as the whole thing was written and recorded in basic, in about 2 hours.

img_0033

Not sure whose mini acoustic with nylon strings that belongs to, but it worked in a pinch!  And so one day you’ll hear “Looking Gorgeous (and Lonely)” on the upcoming twinravens record tentatively titled:  Fighting In Hell.

Now that the song is written and recorded in basic, how does one switch gears and pull that other creative lever?  Maybe it’s time to go for a walk.

 

 

