As a cobwebbed musician and forgotten recording artist with one of the greatest native rock and roll bands of all time, there are days, even after all these years, I hear musical things:  Guitar chords…  Lyrics…  sounds…  flash…

Back in the old days I would plug in my fostex 4 track and make me up a song in rough, right there on the spot when said things would happen.  Here is an example of such:

“What to do with Sunday Afternoon”  is really called “Shaggy Wants to Go See Strippers Today”.  It was recorded on said Fostex, 4 tracks, and you can hear me calling out the tracks at the beginning of the tape:  “lead on two”, “vocal on three”…  Which means, get this:  I put the 12 string guitar on track one.  Put the guitar lead (still on the 12 string!) on track 2 without any vocal…  Then made the lyrics up as I went, pulling them out of the smokey air in the crib, on track 3.  Shag came along and put the background vocal on track 4 after he’d cooked us some bacon and eggs and washed the dishes, you can hear him hollering from the kitchen early on in the song.

It was one of those drunken Sunday mornings on Spruce Street, way back in what seems like another life time ago.  Like the song says: I really did have 40 bucks, and I really did want to go and shoot some stick and watch some NFL on that winter afternoon.  And 40 bucks back in the mid 90’s would go a lot further than 40 bucks today believe you me!  Gasoline was 44 or 45 cents a litre back in those days.  No stick and NFL for Shag though.  He had bigger plans.  (Shag of course was one of the lead singers and songwriters with the rock and roll band:  No Reservations, of which I’m going on about at the top of the page.)

Anyway.  Back to 2017.  I was at home on the range over the Xmas holidays, growing whiskers of epic proportions, lying ultra low, girls everywhere, when suddenly I could hear it.  There were guitar chords swirling, coming down from the spirit world…  So I grabbed me my trusty Ibanez Art Star and started strumming what I thought I’d heard but that wasn’t it!  So I grabbed my Ovation, the same 6 string that went through the entire war with me, and started strumming and like the Grinch Who Stole xmas, when he’s up there on the mountain top and he lends an ear to the Who’s down in Whoville, I could hear something faintly, music of some sort, coming up through the blissful wintery landscape.

These days it’s all apple and mac book pro!  So I booted up the photo booth fast before I lost the sound of those chords.  And here it is!  Recorded in super basic, on the 2nd fret.  Now mind you:  I live with all kinds of beautiful girls.  They’re everywhere.  And into everything, like raccoons but lord have mercy if you ever let them go!  So I pushed the record button and didn’t really record the idea of what I was hearing on the guitar, but the real gold is what is happening in the background.  So here it is:

Now that is some serious rock and roll!  (And oh yes:  I love my girls!)

 

 

